Overview
To Our Customers -

This section of our site is a resource guide for an owner or marketing VP of a business to learn as much as possible about getting their video hosted, online and embedded throughout the web. It is filled with great sites that help people enhance their stories, brands, and messaging using video as the new medium. We go into depth about how to better tell stories with clickable video and how to make sure that clickable video enhances the viewing experience. Last, we will keep the site current with recent market statistics that we find. So keep coming back, lean-in, click and enjoy!

All the best,
Scott Broomfield - Veeple Co-founder




Current Statistics

Audience Attention Span This graph, provided by Tube Mogul (www.tubemogul.com), shows that short form video is the way to go for the Small to Medium business interested in telling their story and marketing their message using video. A full one-third drops off after 30 seconds, falling to below 50% during the first minute.
US Online Advertisting Spending, by Format, 2008-2013 (millions) One of our favorite information sources is eMarketer (www.emarketer.com). This chart, published in November, shows that video continues to grow at a very healthy pace. The data indicates that the reason for the growth is the effectiveness of video as the new medium for communicating one's message.
Comparative Estimates: US Online Video Advertising Spending, 2008-2013 (millions) This is another way of looking at the same data as above. In this chart, eMarketer shows that there is a wide range of advertsing spending going on in video. What is clear, however, is that all the forecasts for online video advertsing is up and to the left.





Resources
Scott's Top 10 Favorite Sites That Relate To Video (Alpha Sort):

www.addictomatic.com    Addict-o-Matic is an excellent site to search on a subject and find results through types of publications and media outlets. I use it to canvas a subject, such as astronomical discoveries, or search for current information on a competitor. I use it quite a bit when interested in finding video trends, such as CTR%, video analytics, video viewing habits, video hosting, or video storytelling. A friend of a friend built this site. I love it.

www.clickz.com    Click Z is a great site to see current information on 'digital marketing.' They are a good resource to see the state of the art as related to digital techniques, including SEO (search engine optimization) and how to get better results from video marketing campaigns.

www.contentinople.com    Contentinople 'Networks the Digital Media industry.' Or from a layman's point of view. They talk about current news within the industry. It is both a blog type site and a news site. Good on video hosting (CDN) alternatives.

www.emarketer.com    eMarketer is one of the best when it comes to statistics and data about online video, online marketing, and mobile marketing. Every few days they produce another chart that shows a new view of information about video, video advertising, video viewing, etc.

www.imediaconnection.com    iMedia Connection is sort of a cross between Conteninople and eMarketer. They have good statistics on digital marketing and video marketing, including SEO, but also have pretty good commentary and third party blogs.

www.mediapost.com    This one requires that you sign up to view it. It is free, though. I use the 'Video Insider' portion of Media Post. They have many, many publications; too many to list here. Their video hosting section is good for beginning to understand the economics of using video on your site. Especially good if you are a small to medium business and are looking at getting video to your site for the first time. Veeple certainly helps with this, but it is nice to know what the other options might be if you want to bolt your own solution together. Keep in mind that Veeple is an 'all-in-one' solution: Content management (CMS), content delivery (CDN), dynamic / customizable player, clickable links and full video analytics, including clickable analytics.

www.newteevee.com    New Tee Vee is probably to one on this list that is the most 'gossipy' related to people and companies playing in the video arena. It is a little like a min TV station and has many online video Blogs wherein people comment on a variety of topics regarding online video, video deployment and industry best practices.

www.reelseo.com    As one might image, Reel SEO focus on, you guessed it, Search Engine Optimization or SEO for short. They have a wealth of reports and information links to help the small business owner figure out how to best optimize one's site for the search engines and the little 'bots and spiders' that do all of the web crawling. Very professional site.

www.itvt.com    As they sate on their site, InteractiveTV Today [itvt] is the most widely read and trusted news source on the rapidly emerging medium of multiplatform, broadband interactive television (ITV). I like itvt as they are "all things interactive television" and do a great job of keeping up on all the latest happenings in the industry.

www.webanalyticsworld.com    Web Analytics World is probably my favorite when in comes to pure Web Analytics. They go both deep and broad. They often provide the tools, tips and tricks necessary to figure out whether your digital and online video programs are working to max capacity and how to optimize your programs.

Online Video Creation & Training Resources

The following list are some of the recent sites we have found that help small and medium business figure out how best to use video, market using video, measure effectiveness and train people in how to best use video on a web site to enhance digital branding, messaging and storytelling.

Cyber College  http://www.cybercollege.com/
Web University  http://www.webvideouniversity.com/
Internet Audio Guy  http://www.internetaudioguy.com/
Authority Black Book  http://www.authorityblackbook.com/
Downloadable Media  http://www.downloadablemedia.org/
Video Production Tips  http://www.videoproductiontips.com/
ITDP  http://itdp.providence.edu/Help/Video.htm/
Thomas Net  http:///news.thomasnet.com/fullstory/538789/
Make Internet TV  http://makeinternettv.org/
OJR  http://www.ojr.org/ojr/wiki/video/
Squidoo  http://www.squidoo.com/onlinevideotips
Mima  http://www.cybercollege.com/
RSS Pieces  http://www.rsspieces.com/almost-famous-how-to-create-viral-video
Now Is Gone  http://nowisgone.com/2008/01/16/go-viral-video/
Melissa Attree  http://melissaattree.wordpress.com/2008/03/18/easy-online-video-creation/
Will Video For Food  http://willvideoforfood.com/2008/06/27/three-golden-rules-of-online-video-creation/
Media College  http://www.mediacollege.com/video
Jake Ludington  http://www.jakeludington.com/

Online Video Magazine Resources

These are a list of general video magazine resources that we have found useful over the months. Some are about video hosting, whereas others are more targeted to a specific vertical market opportunity. So far to date, at Veeple our top 4 vertical markets are Technology, Entertainment, Gaming and, and we like this one, Education.

Streaming Media  http://www.streamingmedia.com/magazine/
Student Filmmaker  http://www.studentfilmmakers.com/
Videomaker Magazine  http://www.videomaker.com/
Video Librarian  http://www.videolibrarian.com/
EE Times  http://www.eetimes.com/
DV Magazine  http://www.dv.com/
Video Business  http://www.videobusiness.com/
Broadcasting and Cable  http://www.broadcastingcable.com/
Government Video  http://www.governmentvideo.com/

Online Video Blogs & Vlogs

You guessed it, some of the better site for pure video blogging. This is becoming quite popular as one might image. For full disclosure - Vloggerheads, in part, in a user of the Veeple Service.

OV Guide  http://blog.ovguide.com/
Tech Video Blog  http://techvideoblog.com/reviews/online-video-sites-hd-quality-comparison
Inside Online Video  http://www.insideonlinevideo.com/
BNET  http://resources.bnet.com/topic/online+video.html
Filmmaker Magazine  http://www.filmmakermagazine.com/blog
Internet Video Magazine  http://www.internetvideomag.com/
1 Tim Street  http://1timstreet.com/blog/
Vlog Blog  http://www.vlogblog.com/
Vloggerheads  http://www.vloggerheads.com/

Video Conversion Software and Video Downloads

These sites help people figure out what video formats work best and how to get those types of video on the Internet. As one can image, there are many, many video format that exist in the market today.

Zamzar  http://www.zamzar.com/
Media-Convert  http://media-convert.com/
Applian Technologies  http://applian.com/replay-converter/index.php
Media Converter  http://www.mediaconverter.org/
Videoronk  http://www.videoronk.com/
Videodl  http://www.videodl.org/
Vixy  http://vixy.net/
Keepvid  http://keepvid.com/
Applian Technologies  http://applian.com/replay-media-catcher/index.php
Real  http://www.real.com/

Misc:

Throwing this one in for fun, it is our way of saying that we all have a responsibility to post properly and NOT violate other's intellectual and copyrighted property. It is a user's guide for how to do things with integrity. This is why at Veeple we focus on the SMB, as most of the time the owner of a small or medium sized business understand their responsibilities and they already own most of the video content they post.

Center For Social Media  http://centerforsocialmedia.org/resources/online_video/




Glossary of Terms
Ad impression -
1) an ad which is served to a user's browser. Ads can be requested by the user's browser (referred to as pulled ads) or they can be pushed, such as e-mailed ads; 2) a measurement of responses from an ad delivery system to an ad request from the user's browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and is recorded at a point as late as possible in the process of delivery of the creative material to the user's browser -- therefore closest to the actual opportunity to see by the user.

Ad impression ratio -
Click-throughs divided by ad impressions. (see CTR)

Ad insertion -
when an ad is inserted in a document and recorded by the ad server.

Ad network -
an aggregator or broker of advertising inventory for many sites. Ad networks are the sales representatives for the Web sites within the network.

Ad serving -
the delivery of ads by a server to an end user's computer on which the ads are then displayed by a browser and/or cached. Ad serving is normally performed either by a Web publisher or by a third-party ad server. Ads can be embedded in the page or served separately.

Ad space -
the location on a page of a site in which an advertisement can be placed. Each space on a site is uniquely identified. Multiple ad spaces can exist on a single page.

Ad view -
when the ad is actually seen by the user. Note this is not measurable today. The best approximation today is provided by ad displays.

Affiliate marketing -
an agreement between two sites in which one site (the affiliate) agrees to feature content or an ad designed to drive traffic to another site. In return, the affiliate receives a percentage of sales or some other form of compensation generated by that traffic.

Animated GIF -
an animation created by combining multiple GIF images in one file. The result is multiple images, displayed sequentially, giving the appearance of movement.

Aspect ratio -
the width-to-height ratio of a picture or video frame. TV broadcasts at a 4:3 (1.33:1) aspect ratio; digital TV will be broadcast with a 16:9 (1.78:1) ratio; and most feature films are shot in at least a 1.85:1 ratio. Veeple used either a 4x3 or 16x9 aspect ratio and one can set their own width when they deploy and embed videos.

Avatar-
A graphical representation of an individual in a game or other virtual world or environment

Bandwidth -
the transmission rate of a communications line or system, expressed as kilobits per second (kbps) or megabits per second (Mbps) for digital systems; the amount of data that can be transmitted over communications lines in a given time.

Banner -
a graphic advertising image displayed on a Web page. See www.iab.net for voluntary guidelines defining specifications of banner ads.

Behavioral Targeting -
A technique used by online publishers and advertisers to increase the effectiveness of their campaigns. Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual's web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual. Practitioners believe this helps them deliver their online advertisements to the users who are most likely to be influenced by them.

Blog -
Generic name for any Website featuring regular posts arranged chronologically, typically inviting public comments from readers. Blog postings are generally short and informal, and blog software is generally free and very easy for individual users, making it a popular tool for online diaries as well as more professional publications.

Bot -
software that runs automatically without human intervention. Typically, a bot is endowed with the capability to react to different situations it may encounter. Two common types of bots are agents and spiders. Bots are used by companies like search engines to discover Web sites for indexing. Short for "robot."

Brand Awareness -
Research studies can associate ad effectiveness to measure the impact of online advertising on key branding metrics.

Broadband -
an Internet connection that delivers a relatively high bit rate - any bit rate at or above 256 Kbps. Cable modems and DSL all offer broadband connections.

Buffering -
when a streaming media player temporarily stores portions of a streaming media (e.g., audio or video) file on a client PC until there is enough information for the stream to begin playing.

Cache -
memory used to temporarily store the most frequently requested content/files/pages in order to speed its delivery to the user. Caches can be local (i.e. on a browser) or on a network. In the case of local cache, most computers have both memory (RAM), and disk (hard drive) cache.

Caching -
the process of copying a Web element (page or ad) for later reuse. On the Web, this copying is normally done in two places: in the user's browser and on proxy servers. When a user makes a request for a Web element, the browser looks into its own cache for the element; then a proxy, if any; followed by the intended server. Caching is done to reduce redundant network traffic, resulting in increased overall efficiency of the Internet.

CDN -
a Content Delivery Network, or CDN, provides the mechanism for hosting a video on-line. With Veeple, one can use our CDN, which is AWS (Amazon), of keep their existing CDN provider. If you do not have a CDN and have under 100,000 videos every month, then the Veeple way is the way to go.

Click rate -
ratio of ad clicks to ad impressions.

Clicks -
1) metric which measures the reaction of a user to an Internet ad. There are three types of clicks: click-throughs; in-unit clicks; and mouseovers; 2) the opportunity for a user to download another file by clicking on an advertisement, as recorded by the server; 3) the result of a measurable interaction with an advertisement or key word ` that links to the advertiser's intended Web site or another page or frame within the Web site; 4) metric which measures the reaction of a user to linked editorial content.

Click Fraud -
Click fraud is a type of internet crime that occurs in pay per click online advertising when a person, automated script, or computer program imitates a legitimate user of a web browser clicking on an ad, for the purpose of generating a charge per click without having actual interest in the target of the ad's link.

Click-stream -
1) the electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and from page to page within a site; 2) a comprehensive body of data describing the sequence of activity between a user's browser and any other Internet resource, such as a Web site or third party ad server.

Click-through -
the action of following a link within an advertisement or editorial content to another Web site or another page or frame within the Web site. Ad click-throughs should be tracked and reported as a 302 redirect at the ad server and should filter out robotic activity.

Clickable Video -
a term we use at Veeple to describe one of our value propositions - that anything on one's video becomes clickable, which allows one to deepen their story, enhance their brand or improve the effectiveness of a video campaign.

Client-initiated ad impression -
one of the two methods used for ad counting. Ad content is delivered to the user via two methods - server-initiated and client-initiated. Client-initiated ad counting relies on the user's browser for making requests, formatting and re-directing content. For organizations using a client-initiated ad counting method, counting should occur at the publisher's ad server or third-party ad server, subsequent to the ad request, or later, in the process. See server-initiated ad impression.

CMS -
a Content Management System, or CMS, is used when one has more than 1 video they wish to deploy. The moment a sites has multiple videos being viewed over multiple times periods, they one needs a CMS in order to keep track of the videos.

Codec -
short for compressor/decompressor. Codecs are computer algorithms that are used to compress the size of audio, video, and image files for streaming over a data network or storage on a computer. Apple's QuickTime, Microsoft's Windows Media Video, and MP3 are examples of common codecs.

Contextual Ads -
Existing contextual ad engines deliver text and image ads to non-search content pages. Ads are matched to keywords extracted from content. Advertisers can leverage existing keyboard-based paid search campaigns and gain access to a larger audience.

Cookie -
A cookie is a text-only string of information from a website via a "response header" that a web browser transfers to a cookie file on a client PC. The client PC browser has sole discretion to store these response headers from one or more websites.

CPA (Cost-per-Action) -
cost of advertising based on a visitor taking some specifically defined action in response to an ad. "Actions" include such things as a sales transaction, a customer acquisition, or a click.

CPC (Cost-per-Customer) -
the cost an advertiser pays to acquire a customer.

CPC (Cost-per-click) -
cost of advertising based on the number of clicks received.

CPL (Cost-per-lead) -
cost of advertising based on the number of database files (leads) received.

CPM (Cost-per-thousand) -
media term describing the cost of 1,000 impressions. For example, a Web site that charges $1,500 per ad and reports 100,000 visits has a CPM of $15 ($1,500 divided by 100).

CPO (Cost-per-Order) -
cost of advertising based on the number of orders received. Also called Cost-per- Transaction.

CPS (Cost-per-Sale) -
the advertiser's cost to generate one sales transaction. If this is being used in conjunction with a media buy, a cookie can be offered on the content site and read on the advertiser's site after the successful completion of an online sale.

Crawler -
a software program which visits Web pages to build indexes for search engines. See also spider, bot, and intelligent agent.

CTR% (Click Through Rate) -
the CTR%, or Click-through Rate %, is the rate at which a video or ad is clicked on divided by how many times that video or ad is viewed (impression).

Digital Video Server -
a robust, dedicated computer at a central location that receives command requests from the television viewer through a video-on-demand application. Once it receives this request, it then instantly broadcasts specific digital video streams to that viewer.

Display Advertising -
a form of online advertising where an advertiser's message is shown on a destination web page, generally set off in a box at the top or bottom or to one side of the content of the page.

Dynamic ad insertion -
the process by which an ad is inserted into a page in response to a user's request. Dynamic ad placement allows alteration of specific ads placed on a page based on any data available to the placement program. At its simplest, dynamic ad placement allows for multiple ads to be rotated through one or more spaces. In more sophisticated examples, the ad placement could be affected by demographic data or usage history for the current user.

FTP (File Transfer Protocol) -
Internet protocol which facilitates downloading or uploading digital files.

Filtering -
the process of removing robotic activity and error codes from measurement records to make the remaining records representative of valid human Internet actions.

Flash® -
Adobe's vector-based rich media file format which is used to display interactive animations on a Web page.

Floating ads -
an ad or ads that appear within the main browser window on top of the Web page's normal content, thereby appearing to "float" over the top of the page.

Fold -
The line below which a user has to scroll to see content not immediately visible when a Web page loads in a browser. Ads or content displayed "above the fold" are visible without any end-user interaction. Monitor size and resolution determine where on a Web page the fold lies.

Frames -
multiple, independent sections used to create a single Web page. Each frame is built as a separate HTML file but with one "master" file to control the placement of each section. When a user requests a page with frames, several files will be displayed as panes. Sites using frames report one page request with several panes as multiple page requests.

Frame rate -
the number of frames of video displayed during a given time. The higher the frame rate, the more high-quality the image will be.

Frequency -
the number of times an ad is delivered to the same browser in a single session or time period. A site can use cookies in order to manage ad frequency.

Gigabyte -
one gigabyte equals 1,000 megabytes, or 1 billion bytes

HDTV (High-Definition Television) -
a higher quality signal resolution using a digital format for the transmission and reception of TV signals. HDTV provides about five times more picture information (picture elements or pixels) than conventional television, creating clarity, wider aspect ratio, and digital quality sound.

Host -
any computer on a network that offers services or connectivity to other computers on the network. A host has an IP address associated with it.

HTML (Hypertext Markup Language) -
a set of codes called markup tags in a plain text file that determine what information is retrieved and how it is rendered by a browser. There are two kinds of markup tags: anchor and format. Anchor tags determine what is retrieved, and format tags determine how it is rendered. Browsers receive HTML pages from the Internet and use the information to display text, graphics, links and other elements as they were intended by a Website's creator.

HTTP (Hyper-Text Transfer Protocol) -
the format most commonly used to transfer documents on the World Wide Web.

Hybrid pricing -
pricing model which is based on a combination of a CPM pricing model and a performance-based pricing model. See CPM pricing model and performance-based pricing model.

Hyperlink -
a clickable link, e.g., on a Web page or within an e-mail, that sends the user to a new URL when activated.

Hypertext -
any text that contains links connecting it with other text or files on the Internet.

IAB (Interactive Advertising Bureau) -
IAB is a non-profit trade association devoted exclusively to maximizing the use and effectiveness of interactive advertising and marketing. See iab.net for more information.

Image map -
a GIF or JPEG image with more than one linking hyperlink. Each hyperlink or hot spot can lead to a different destination page.

Impression -
a measurement of responses from a Web server to a page request from the user browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to opportunity to see the page by the user.

Insertion -
actual placement of an ad in a document, as recorded by the ad server.

Insertion order -
purchase order between a seller of interactive advertising and a buyer (usually an advertiser or its agency).

Interactive advertising -
all forms of online, wireless and interactive television advertising, including banners, sponsorships, e-mail, keyword searches, referrals, slotting fees, classified ads and interactive television commercials.

Internal page impressions -
Web site activity that is generated by individuals with IP addresses known to be affiliated with the Web site owner. Internal activity that is associated with administration and maintenance of the site should be excluded from the traffic or measurement report.

Interstitial ads -
ads that appear between two content pages. Also known as transition ads, intermercial ads and splash pages.

IP address (URL) -
Internet protocol numerical address assigned to each computer on the Internet so that its location and activities can be distinguished from those of other computers. The format is ##.##.##.## with each number ranging from 0 through 255 (e.g. 125.45.87.204)

ISP (Internet Service Provider) -
A business or organization that provides Internet access and related services, to consumers.

iTV (Interactive Television) -
any technology that allows for two-way communication between the audience and the television service provider (such as the broadcaster, cable operator, set-top box manufacturer).

JPEG (Joint Photographic Experts Group) -
Standard web graphic file format that uses a compression technique to reduce graphic file sizes

Jump page ad -
microsite which is reached via click-through from button or banner ad. The jump page itself can list several topics, which are linked to either the advertiser's site or the publisher's site.

Keyword -
specific word(s) entered into a search engine by the user that result(s) in a list of Web sites related to the key word. Keywords can be purchased by advertisers in order to embed ads linking to the advertiser's site within search results (see "Search engine marketing."

Link -
a clickable connection between two Web sites. Formally referred to as a hyperlink.

Micro-sites -
multi-page ads accessed via click-through from initial ad. The user stays on the publisher's Web site, but has access to more information from the advertiser than a display ad allows.

Midroll -
Form of online video ad placement where the ad is played during a break in the middle of the content video. See Preroll and Postroll.

MIME (Multi-purpose Internet Mail Extensions) -
a method of encoding a file for delivery over the Internet. the process by which a user places his/her mouse over a media object, without clicking. The mouse may need to remain still for a specified amount of time to initiate some actions.

MP3 -
Codec most commonly used for digital music online. Generic term for any digital music file, regardless of codec used to create or play it.

MPEG -
1) the file format that is used to compress and transmit movies or video clips online; 2) standards set by the Motion Picture Exports Group for video media.

On-demand -
the ability to request video, audio, or information to be sent to the screen immediately by clicking something on the screen referring to that choice.

On-site measurement -
when a server has an appropriate software program to measure and analyze traffic received on its own site.

Opt-in -
refers to an individual giving a company permission to use data collected from or about the individual for a particular reason, such as to market the company's products and services.

Opt-out -
when a company states that it plans to market its products and services to an individual unless the individual asks to be removed from the company's mailing list.

Page impression -
a measurement of responses from a Web server to a page request from the user's browser, which is filtered from robotic activity and error codes, and is recorded at a point as close as possible to the opportunity to see the page by the user.

Password -
a group of letters and/or numbers which allow a user access to a secured Web site

Pay-per-Click -
an advertising pricing model in which advertisers pay agencies and/or media companies based on how many users clicked on an online ad or e-mail message. This is how Google Adwords function.

Pay-per-Impression -
an advertising pricing model in which advertisers pay based on how many users were served their ads.

Pay-per-Lead -
an advertising pricing model in which advertisers pay for each "sales lead" generated. For example, an advertiser might pay for every visitor that clicked on an ad or site and successfully completed a form. See CPL.

Pay-per-Sale -
an advertising pricing model in which advertisers pay agencies and/or media companies based on how many sales transactions were generated as a direct result of the ad.

PDF (Portable Document Format) -
a digital format developed by Adobe used primarily for distributing digital text files. Files with a .pdf extension can be viewed and printed consistently by anyone, regardless of platform.

Performance pricing model -
an advertising model in which advertisers pay based on a set of agreed upon performance criteria, such as a percentage of online revenues or delivery of new sales leads. See CPA, CPC, CPL, CPO, CPS, CPT.

Permission marketing -
when an individual has given a company permission to market its products and services to the individual.

PII (Personally Identifiable Information) -
refers to information such as an individual's name, mailing address, phone number or e-mail address.

Pixel -
picture element (single illuminated dot) on a computer monitor. The metric used to indicate the size of Internet ads.

Postroll -
form of online video ad placement where the advertisement is played after the content video plays.

Preroll -
form of online video ad placement where the advertisement is played before the content video plays.

Privacy policy -
a statement about what information is being collected; how the information being collected is being used; how an individual can access his/her own data collected; how the individual can opt-out; and what security measures are being taken by the parties collecting the data.

Query -
a request for information, usually to a search engine.

Referral link -
the referring page, or referral link is a place from which the user clicked to get to the current page. In other words, since a hyperlink connects one URL to another, in clicking on a link the browser moves from the referring URL to the destination URL.

Repeat visitor -
unique visitor who has accessed a Web site more than once over a specific time period.

Return visits -
the average number of times a user returns to a site over a specific time period.

Rich media -
advertisements with which users can interact (as opposed to solely animation) in a web page format. These advertisements can be used either singularly or in combination with various technologies, including but not limited to sound, video, or Flash, and with programming languages such as Java, Javascript, and DHTML. These guidelines cover standard Web applications including e-mail, static (e.g. html) and dynamic (e.g. asp) Web pages, and may appear in ad formats such as banners and buttons as well as transitionals and various over-the-page units such as floating ads, page take-overs, and tear-backs.

Search -
Fees advertisers pay Internet companies to list and/or link their company site or domain name to a specific search word or phrase (includes paid search revenues). Search categories include:

Paid listings -
text links appear at the top or side of search results for specific keywords. The more a marketer pays, the higher the position it gets. Marketers only pay when a user clicks on the text link.

Site optimization -
modifies a site to make it easier for search engines to automatically index the site and hopefully result in better placement in results.

Search engine -
an application that helps Web users find information on the Internet. The method for finding this information is usually done by maintaining an index of Web resources that can be queried for the keywords or concepts entered by the user.

Search engine marketing (SEM) -
a form of Internet Marketing that seeks to promote websites by increasing their visibility in the Search Engine result pages

Search engine optimization (SEO) -
SEO is the process of improving the volume and quality of traffic to a web site from search engines via "natural" ("organic" or "algorithmic") search results.

Sell-through rate -
the percentage of ad inventory sold as opposed to traded or bartered.

Social marketing -
Marketing tactic that taps into the growth of social networks, encouraging users to adopt and pass along widgets or other content modules created by a brand, or to add a brand to the user's social circle of friends.

Social network -
An online destination that gives users a chance to connect with one or more groups of friends, facilitating sharing of content, news, and information among them. Examples of social networks include Facebook and LinkedIn.

Spam filter -
software built into e-mail gateways as well as e-mail client applications designed to identify and remove unsolicited commercial messages from incoming e-mail before the end user sees them

Spider -
a program that automatically fetches Web pages. Spiders are used to feed pages to search engines. It is called a spider because it crawls over the Web. Because most Web pages contain links to other pages, a spider can start almost anywhere. As soon as it sees a link to another page, it goes off and fetches it. Large search engines have many spiders working in parallel.

Splash page -
a preliminary page that precedes the user-requested page of a Web site that usually promotes a particular site feature or provides advertising. A splash page is timed to move on to the requested page after a short period of time or a click. Also known as an interstitial. Splash pages are not considered qualified page impressions under current industry guidelines, but they are considered qualified ad impressions.

Sponsor -
1) a sponsor is an advertiser who has sponsored an ad and, by doing so, has also helped sponsor or sustain the Web site itself; 2) an advertiser that has a special relationship with the Web site and supports a specific feature of a Web site, such as a writer's column or a collection of articles on a particular subject.

Sponsorship -
Sponsorship represents custom content and/or experiences created for an advertiser which may or may not include ad unties (i.e., display advertising, brand logos, advertorial and pre-roll video). Sponsorships fall into several categories:

Static ad placement/Static rotation -
1) ads that remain on a Web page for a specified period of time; 2) embedded ads.

Stickiness -
a measure used to gauge the effectiveness of a site in retaining individual users. Stickiness is usually measured by the duration of the visit.

Streaming -
1) technology that permits continuous audio and video delivered to a computer from a remote Web site; 2) an Internet data transfer technique that allows the user to see and hear audio and video files. The host or source compresses, then "streams" small packets of information over the Internet to the user, who can access the content as it is received.

Streaming media player -
a software program which decompresses audio and/or video files so the user can hear and/or see the video or audio file. Some examples are Real Player�, Windows Media and Quick Time Player.

Surfing -
exploring the World Wide Web.

Target audience -
the intended audience for an ad, usually defined in terms of specific demographics (age, sex, income, etc.) product purchase behavior, product usage or media usage.

Textual ad impressions -
the delivery of a text-based advertisement to a browser. To compensate for slow Internet connections, visitors may disable "auto load images" in their graphical browser. When they reach a page that contains an advertisement, they see a marker and the advertiser's message in text format in place of the graphical ad. Additionally, if a user has a text-only browser, only textual ads are delivered and recorded as textual ad impressions.

Third-party ad server -
independent outsourced companies that specialize in managing, maintaining, serving, tracking, and analyzing the results of online ad campaigns. They deliver targeted advertising that can be tailored to consumers' declared or predicted characteristics or preferences.

Traffic -
the number of visits and/or visitors who come to a Web site.

Unique user -
unique individual or browser which has either accessed a site (see unique visitor) or which has been served unique content and/or ads such as e-mail, newsletters, interstitials and pop-under ads. Unique users can be identified by user registration or cookies. Reported unique users should filter out bots.

Unique visitor -
a unique user who accesses a Web site within a specific time period.

Upload -
to send data from a computer to a network. An example of uploading data is sending e-mail.

URL (Uniform Resource Locator) -
the unique identifying address of any particular page on the Web. It contains all the information required to locate a resource, including its protocol (usually HTTP), server domain name (or IP address), file path (directory and name) and format (usually HTML or CGI).

URL tagging -
the process of embedding unique identifiers into URLs contained in HTML content. These identifiers are recognized by Web servers on subsequent browser requests. Identifying visitors through information in the URLs should also allow for an acceptable calculation of visits, if caching is avoided.

User -
an individual with access to the World Wide Web.

User registration -
information contributed by an individual which usually includes characteristics such as the person's age, gender, zip code and often much more. A site's registration system is usually based on an ID code or password to allow the site to determine the number of unique visitors and to track a visitor's behavior within that site.

Viral marketing -
1) any advertising that propagates itself; 2) advertising and/or marketing techniques that "spread" like a virus by getting passed on from consumer to consumer and market to market.

Viral video -
Online video clips (typically short and humorous) passed via links from one person to another.

Visit -
measurement which has been filtered for robotic activity of one or more text and/or graphics downloads from a site without 30 consecutive minutes of inactivity and which can be reasonably attributed to a single browser for a single session. See iab.net for ad campaign measurement guidelines.

Visit duration -
the length of time the visitor is exposed to a specific ad, Web page or Web site during a single session.

Visitor -
individual or browser which accesses a Web site within a specific time period.

Vlogger -
A video blogger.

XML (eXtensible Markup Language) -
a richer more dynamic successor to HTML utilizing SGML or HTML type tags to structure information. XLM is used for transferring data and creating applications on the Web. See SGML and HTML.

Yield -
the percentage of clicks vs. impressions on an ad within a specific page. Also called ad click rate.